The ongoing cycle of publicity for a tiny business

I was in the local paper last Friday talking about my craft, supporting the local economy and my plans for world domination.

I was talking to a friend recently who said they admired a local business who was happy to make a living from their products rather than aim for world domination and I have to agree – that’s a much better plan. I would love to do Emma Makes full-time and think that’s a worthy if very distant goal.

Part of what I try and do is to constantly drive awareness of Emma Makes without spending lots of money (that I don’t have). The Times Age article was great and I’ve also done a little Emma Makes postcard drop (with ‘Made in Featherston’ stickers on them) around some local shops. If you have any other ideas or avenues let me know – it’s a never-ending exercise really and I’ve found too that getting people to my website doesn’t always mean making sales.

Read the Wairarapa Times Age story about  Emma Makes

paper

7 thoughts on “The ongoing cycle of publicity for a tiny business

  1. It is an ongoing process, for sure. I really like the comment about making a living vs world domination though, if I could do Bliss in a Teacup in some form, full time, I would be completely happy with that. I’m realising more and more that I have to put myself out there and in front of people rather than waiting for them to come to me, so learning how to be a bit braver is the key for me at the moment!

    • Absolutely – almost nobody’s PR or magazine articles happen because a media publication approached them. It’s all just pitching yourself in. And then sucking it up and moving on if you get rejected.

  2. Pingback: Dreaming Big : toodlesnoodles.com

  3. Holding a mini workshop or demo for people is great PR and spreads the word. I could imagine people would love to buy a ‘print your own’ notebook from you – they buy a blank cover one and with your help stamp on one of your woodblocks.

Leave a Reply

